Thunder play-by-play man named ECHL broadcaster of the year

PRINCETON, NJ – The ECHL announced on Friday that Cameron Close of the Adirondack Thunder is the 2016-17 recipient of the ECHL Broadcaster of the Year award as determined in voting by league media relations directors and broadcasters.

The other finalists were Kevin McGlue of the Colorado Eagles, Alex Reed of the Florida Everblades, Brian McCormack of the Idaho Steelheads and Joe Roberts of the Kalamazoo Wings.

Close, a 2016 nominee for the award, joined the American Hockey League’s Adirondack Flames in 2014-15 following his graduation from the University of New Hampshire, and just completed his second season with the Thunder. He was selected to serve as the broadcaster for the 2017 CCM/ECHL All-Star Classic hosted by Adirondack in January, and broadcast live nationally on NHL Network. In addition to serving as the team’s broadcaster, Close also is the Thunder’s Director of Corporate Sales and handles all of the team’s travel services. While at New Hampshire, he served as the play-by-play broadcaster for three years for the WUNH, the school’s student station.

The Adirondack Thunder were also nominated for two other ECHL Awards. The Thunder’s Director, Communications & Community Relations, Zach Dooley, was a finalist for the Media Relations Director of the Year, the second consecutive season he’s been nominated. The Adirondack Thunder ticket sales staff was also a nominee for the ECHL’s Ticket Sales Staff of the Year award.

The Thunder will hit the ice again in October as they kick off the 2017-18 ECHL season.

Related Articles


Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker